1 definition by tinkering

Protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. From cows and pigs. Used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics. Used as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings (e.g., "Jello"). In candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, yogurts. On photographic film and in vitamins as a coating and as capsules. Sometimes used to assist in "clearing" wines. Alternatives: carrageen (carrageenan, Irish moss), seaweeds (algin, agar-agar, kelp—used in jellies, plastics, medicine), pectin from fruits, dextrins, locust bean gum, cotton gum, silica gel. Marshmallows were originally made from the root of the marsh mallow plant. Vegetarian capsules are now available from several companies. Digital cameras don't use film.
Gelatin is certainly not vegetarian.
tinkering tarafından 11 Ocak 2006, Çarşamba

Ücretsiz Günlük Email

ücretsiz Günün Sokak Argosunu her sabah almak için aşağıya email adresinizi yazın

Emailler, daily@urbandictionary.com adresinden gönderilir. Asla spam mail göndermeyiz.

×